Programme Directors


Rachid Yazami

Prof Rachid Yazami
School of Materials Science & Engineering 

Program Director
Energy Storage
Energy Research Institute @ NTU

 (+65) 6513 8295
Office: CleanTech One #06-04

Professor Rachid Yazami is currently a Principal Scientist and Energy Storage Program Director at the Energy Research Institute at Nanyang (ERI@N) within the Nanyang Technological University (NTU). He is served the Cheng Tsang Man Chair Professor in Energy at the School of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE-NTU) and Principal Investigator of the TUM‐Create Centre of Electromobility in Singapore.

Prof. Yazami is the recipient of the 2014 Draper Prize of the National academy of Engineering, considered as the Nobel Prize of Engineering which recognizes his pioneer development of the graphite anode used in over 20 billion lithium ion battery cells produced in 2015 alone.

Prior to joining NTU Professor Rachid Yazami who is on leave from the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) where he hold a Research Director position, served a Visiting Associate at the California Institute of Technology and conducted research on battery electrode materials in collaboration with NASA’ Jet Propulsion laboratory. In 2007 he was the key founder and president of a Californian company on fluoride based primary and rechargeable batteries.

In 2011 Prof. Yazami founded a Singaporean company KVI PTE LTD dedicated to battery state of health, safety and fast charging technologies.

Prof. Yazami co-authored over 200 scientific papers and is the inventor of 125 patents worldwide. He was decorated by the King of Morocco in 2014 who nominated him a Member of the Moroccan Royal (Hassan II) Academy of Science and Technology. He was elevated to the rank of Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur (France, 2016).


Career Appointments

 • A visiting scientist/professor under the Japan Government JSPS program:
  -  Kyoto University Kyoto University
  -  Shinshu University
• Nominated for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (2013-2015)
• Finalist of the Global Energy Award (Russia, 2014)
• Finalist of the Marius Lavet Prize for Engineering (France, 2016)
• Award recipient from  IEEE, NATO and NASA
• President of the International Battery Association (IBA) (2003-2006)
• Founded in 2015 LILICEL PTE LTD to develop “refillable” lithium batteries