News & Events



​NTU Representative in the New Singapore Green Building Council Board

Published on: 01-Apr-2019

Front row, first from right: Representing NTU Singapore, Mr Yann Grynberg, Programme Director for Smart & Sustainable Building Technologies at the Energy Research Institute @ NTU has been appointed a board member for the Singapore Green Building Council Board for the 2019/2021 term.

Dr. Ho Nyok Yong, Immediate Past President of the Singapore Contractors Association Limited, will head the new Singapore Green Building Council (SGBC) Board for the 2019/2021 term. 

Dr. Ho takes over from 5th SGBC President Mr. Tan Swee Yiow, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Keppel Land International Limited. The new SGBC Board Members were formally introduced at SGBC’s 10th Annual General Meeting held at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, which was attended by more than 80 industry representatives from across the building and construction industry.

“The new Board is particularly significant as we have arrived at an important junction of our young history and journey. While it is important to look back at what we have achieved the past decade, we must also gear up for the future which holds challenges but also tremendous opportunity. With the new Board, I am confident that SGBC will be able to accelerate green building adoption to transform the building and construction industry,” said Dr Ho.

The new Board is representative of the green building industry, comprising all key stakeholders including real estate owners & developers, architects, engineers, government agencies as well as members of the academia. With a wide spectrum of strengths and networks, the new Board is well poised to advance, connect and engage with the green building industry. The full list of Board Members for the 2019/2021 term are as follow:

President: Dr Ho Nyok Yong (Singapore Contractors Association Limited)
Immediate Past President: Mr Tan Swee Yiow (Keppel Land International Limited)
1st Vice President: Mr Tang Kok Thye (ADDP Architects LLP)
2nd Vice President: Mr Ang Kian Seng (Building and Construction Authority)
Treasurer: Mr Heah Soon Poh (JTC Corporation)
Assistant Treasurer: Mr Ler Seng Ann (Urban Redevelopment Authority)
Secretary: Mr Lee Ang Seng (Beca Carter Hollings & Ferner)
Assistant Secretary: Mr Tan Szue Hann (Singapore Institute of Architects)
Board Technical Coordinator: Mr Owen Wee (Surbana Jurong Consultants Pte Ltd)
Board Member: Ms Foo Peng Er (CapitaLand Group)
Board Member: Ms Esther An (City Developments Limited)
Board Member: Mr Hu Kar Keong (Housing & Development Board)
Board Member: Mr Ang Kok Kiat (National Environment Agency)
Board Member: Mr Yann Grynberg (Nanyang Technological University)
Board Member: Prof. Tham Kwok Wai (National University of Singapore)
Board Member: Mr Ashvinkumar (ONG&ONG Pte Ltd)
SGBC will continue to actively support the transformation of the building and construction industry towards the future economy. With green building identified as one of three key pillars of the Construction Industry Transformation Map, SGBC is streamlining its suite of programmes and activities to support this key pillar. Chief of which is the launch of the Green Mark Professional Qualification Scheme, the successor to the Green Mark Manager/ Professionals registry previously maintained by the Building and Construction Authority (BCA). The new Scheme, and its accompanying Continuing Professional Development (CPD) framework, will help the nation’s growing community of more than 1200 green building professionals to advance their expertise, build capability and improve knowledge.

SGBC has also secured funding from Enterprise Singapore (ESG) under the Local Enterprise and Association Development (LEAD) fund, which will be utilised to develop and implement dedicated programmes to support SGBC Member organisations for greater growth.

Back to listing